The Electricity Regulatory Authority (ERA) on Monday May 13, 2019, signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) with the National Forest Authority (NFA) to restore approximately 148 Acres (60 Hectares) of forest cover in 4 Central Forest Reserves (CFRs).

Under the MoU, ERA will restore CFRs located in the catchment areas of Rivers that host Hydro power Plants and Projects such as; the 200 MW Kiira HPP, 180 MW Nalubaale HPP, 183 Isimba HPP, 600 MW Karuma HPP, 250 MW Bujagali HPP, 135 MW Achwa HPPs, 9 MW Buseruka HPP, 3.5 MW Nyagak 1 and 6.6 MW Nyagak III HPP with a combined Installed Generation Capacity OF 1,317.1 MW.

The CFRs are: Wamale CFR located along River Nile in Central Region, Bujwe CFR located along River Buseruka in Western Region, Laura CFR located along River Nyagak in the West Nile Region and Ongom CFR located along River Achwa in the Northern Region.

ERA shall plant assorted indigenous tree species to restore the forest ecosystem values and tree stocks lost from the CFRs as a result of Deforestation.

Under the MoU, National Forest Authority shall provide Technical Management and Administrative support for the implementation of the tree planting project which shall involve, mobilizing communities in and around the forests to participate in the project, provide timely Technical Guidance and advise on the categories of indigenous tree species to plant as well as the appropriate practices to nature them.

ERA shall on the other hand avail finances required for the project in a timely manner in line with the agreed upon budget. The project is part of ERA’s Corporate Social Responsibility for the Financial Years 2019/20, 2020/21 and 2021/22.

Eng. Ziria Tibalwa Waako, the ERA Chief Executive Officer signed the MoU on behalf of ERA and Mr. Tom Obong Okello, the Executive Director for NFA signed on behalf of NFA.