The President of the Republic of Uganda, President Yoweri Kaguta Museveni on 8th June 2021, appointed Hon. Ruth Nankabirwa Ssentamu as the New Minister of Energy and Mineral Development.

As the Minister of Energy and Mineral Development, Hon. Nankabirwa is charged with providing direction and guidance to the Energy Sector Players, including the Electricity Regulatory Authority in respect to Policy formulation and implementation to ensure sustainable Electricity Supply for Socio-Economic Transformation. Hon. Nankabirwa replaces Hon. Dr. Mary Goretti Kitutu, who was appointed as Minister of Karamoja Affairs.

Hon. Nankabirwa takes on the leadership of the Energy Ministry as the Electricity sub-Sector consolidates and celebrates its achievements registered since its unbundling.

The notable achievements include; the increment in the Installed Capacity from 380 MW in 2000 to the current 1,269.1 MW, the Transmission network length growing from 730 km to 3,100.5 km, Access to Clean Energy growing from 10% to 50%, an Off-Peak Tariff for Industrial Consumers of US Cents 5, and Uganda’s  Electricity Regulatory Framework being ranked Number 1 on the continent for Three (3) consecutive times, in the Electricity Regulatory Index of the African Development Bank released in 2018, 2019 and 2020.

The President also appointed Hon. Okaasai Sidronius Opolot as State Minister for Energy replacing Hon. Simon DÚjang and Hon. Peter Lokeris as the New State Minister for Minerals, replacing Hon. Sarah Achieng Opendi.

The Board, Management and Staff of the Electricity Regulatory Authority, wish Hon. Ruth Nankabirwa Sentamu, Hon. Peter Lokeris and Hon. Okaasai Sidronius Opolot the best as they lead the Ministry of Energy and Mineral Development.



Hon. Ruth Nankabirwa Ssentamu is a Politician. She holds the Degree of Master of Arts in Conflict Studies and a Bachelor of Arts Degree in Fine Art from Makerere University. Prior to her appointment as the Minster of Energy and Mineral Development, Hon. Nankabirwa served as the Government Chief Whip and Woman Member of Parliament for Kiboga District in the 10th Parliament (2016-2021) among other Positions.

Hon. Peter Lokeris is a Ugandan Politician. He has served as the State Minister for Works, State Minister for Minerals, and Member of Parliament for Chekwii County, Nakapiripirit District, among other positions.

Hon. Okaasai is a Ugandan Politician and a Member of Parliament for Kumi County in Kumi District.