Prior to the reforms in the power sector industry was a monopoly run by a single government owned utility company handling generation, transmission and distribution of electricity.  Over the years, this single utility company Uganda Electricity Board (UEB) was unbundled into three successor companies namely: Uganda Electricity Generation Company (UEGCL), Uganda Electricity Transmission Company Ltd and Uganda Electricity Distribution Company Ltd. After creating the above three (3) companies, the Electricity y Authority (ERA) was enacted to oversee the UEB successor Companies in order to address the power problems that were faced by the sector.